HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: MW Technology

BlackMagic URSA MINI 4K Cinema Camera - FULL REVIEW

1007 ratings | 171312 views
Here is our review for the BlackMagic URSA MINI Cinema Camera. More info on the BM URSA MINI: http://bhpho.to/1niuiNT Essential Components for the Camera: CFast 2.0 Cards: http://bhpho.to/1L6cyRo CFast 2.0 Card Reader: http://bhpho.to/1Y36A5F Battery Package: http://bhpho.to/1Y36A5F Follow Me on Twitter http://bit.ly/PKP8jD Add us on google + http://bit.ly/SK83hi Like us on our Facebook Page http://on.fb.me/HJGIoy
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (134)
Juma Tayari (2 months ago)
but how do you sync time code with sound devices
Ozkar Hernan Productions (2 months ago)
Hello greetings from Colombia, I have a camera Black Magic Mini Ursa 4 K (NOT THE PRO) with PL-mount...and i was recommended this accessory https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1324258-REG/blackmagic_design_cineursamuprotef_ursa_mini_pro_ef.html?fbclid=IwAR0qrFiS9EAnnf58o4M7jVMjwY5-3bplq3qwv7cuIqc41gCGij3AwWfGcNs tell me that I can remove that brings my camera MINI URSA 4k PL and place the it says in the link in order to be able to fit EF lenses. Is this correct, can be done? Thank you very much.
Tony Rizzo (5 months ago)
Great video! Very informative, good to know what the limitations are. A question unrelated to the camera: what do you use to for the shots where the camera is spinning around? Thanks!
Ian M (7 months ago)
Would i be able to use a legacy photo prime lens by canon to start with this camera? Or would I have to invest in newer canon lenses?
Princeton Watson (1 year ago)
https://www.payzeno.com/a/Princeton96/6762
Do you get Davinci Resolve Studio with the camera?
Adam Grayson (3 months ago)
Probably an utterly pointless reply as it was so long ago but yes, you do.
AGRACEProduction (1 year ago)
really helpful review. Subscribed :)
vineeth c p (1 year ago)
hi price in india
vineeth c p (1 year ago)
hi price in india
derek hackert (1 year ago)
ursula mini?
SonnyPeas (1 year ago)
Uses a Transcend Card...
wogfun (1 year ago)
why does the footage from the camera look absolutely unimpressive?
Ross Reichert (1 year ago)
How much data in 4k raw does this use in an hour of filming?
DynastyPictures (1 year ago)
Which one should i buy, this bm or the gh5 with metabone booster?
Wolleknäul :3 (1 year ago)
DynastyPictures I think think there is a difference in the workflow. The Ursa comes with xlr audio Inputs and other professional connections. Also it has internal lossless RAW recording which Changes your Post production. The gh5 is much more Compact and lightweight. I Work on Indie Film productions and make short Films. So i would Go with the ursa
The Tony Hernandez (1 year ago)
can this camera use canon lenses?
Adam Funk (1 year ago)
The Tony Hernandez Bruh he talked about it using an EF mount like four different times in the video.
sachin Pawar (1 year ago)
black magic camera price
Seth A (1 year ago)
How fast is the autofocus?
Uiffaq Iman (1 year ago)
I want the camera I'm live in Pakistan so its happen
antronk (1 year ago)
MB = megabytes Mb = megabits great review. thanks!
Steve Greenberg (2 years ago)
thanks for this review, I was about to buy but need strong low light support, great to learn about this ahead of time!
Alan Rojel (2 years ago)
Is good for church? does it has a wireless transmitter or would i need to buy one? if so, which you recommend?
reallybeenfar (2 years ago)
Is there any crop when shooting at 60 or 120fps? And is there any way to use Nikon lenses with it?
Huana Rodrigues (2 years ago)
valor
Pedro costa (2 years ago)
cf fast use same as SATA connector just plug a data cable to a data 2.5 and external power it , and you got large space small price
Simon Meyer (2 years ago)
is it possible to shoot full hd raw in 120fps?
Afrobot (2 years ago)
Hello. So, Can´t i have control about the ISO or shutter o iris??? I mean, manual control
JOSE RODRIGUEZ (2 years ago)
how much is it? BlackMagic URSA MINI 4K Cinema Camera
Fog Man (2 years ago)
All of the monies$$$
The Golden Radio (2 years ago)
+JOSE RODRIGUEZ Where do you live as the price and currency I tell you will be based on your country
Bastien Tararan (2 years ago)
6:58 Blackmagic say that it is a rolling shutter, not a global. But I think it's so fast that it's hard to see the jello effect.
Giorgi Zatiashvili (2 years ago)
Does it has 120 fps on 1080?
Nadim Bou Karroum (2 years ago)
work on your linear wipe effect. haha sorry dude thanks for the review
Wonpyo Kim (2 years ago)
Canon EF Mount
WhatAreYouBuyen (2 years ago)
8:11 I see some nasty moire
Kieran (2 years ago)
01:15 The cameras aren't centered on the page.... Don't like the look of that 🤔
NoAnchorTV (2 years ago)
Pros / Cons list 9:12
Jokker (2 years ago)
what ASA is? how's that different from ISO?
Angel Orona (3 years ago)
that's a good camera
Edward's Sisters'Hands (3 years ago)
Ursula mini? Does it work "Unda da sea"?
Raymond Doetjes (3 years ago)
Is it Youtube or is this camera EXTREMLY noise in the darks? It looks like ants crawling around. I have the BMPC 4K and I never saw this before
JKillerZs G (2 years ago)
Raymond Doetjes I think the Ursa has a fixed noise pattern
Michael Craven (2 years ago)
That'd be YouTube, never take YouTube videos on the true quality of a camera
Thomas Ip (3 years ago)
How to fix this camera: Full DCI 4K 4096*2160 Better low light Use SSD instead of CFast
peniku8 (1 year ago)
Blackmagic keep releasing new software updates with loads of features and improvements. You can use the Blackmagic Ursa Mini SSD mount adapter (SDI->SSD) or the CCtech SSD mount (cfast->SSD). I personally use the CCtech adapter. I got a 1TB SSD and can shoot 4k uncompressed RAW 60fps onto a single SSD. I use a SATA to USB3.1 adapter to use the SSD on the computer and the transfer data rate reaches 500MB/s over USB, it's a great solution imo. In the 2nd slot I got a cfast card to store LUTs and presets
matrodmedia (3 years ago)
+Tommy Ip Cfast is actually a better media than standard SSD, it's just more expensive per GB at the moment. Prices will go down. DCI 4K is nice, but most people arguing for this have no actual use for DCI 4K, and will be cropping the sides to make it fit into a 16x9 aspect ratio anyway. As for low light, most high end cinema cameras have to sacrifice in the low light area to gain in other areas like DR, having a global shutter, etc. Plus, it's marketed as a cinema camera, you should be lighting your shots and many won't shoot above 800 ISO/ASA with these cameras anyway, because...they're lighting their shots. There's no perfect camera.
Thomas Ip (3 years ago)
What a joke :D A7sII
Ben Che (3 years ago)
+Tommy Ip Hahaha. The joke is your comment. Good one.
Kevin Anderson (3 years ago)
sony fs5 for me
Mop Krayz (3 years ago)
newbie question: What' the best general purpose Canon EF lens to get as a first-timer must-have ?
Wolleknäul :3 (1 year ago)
Maybe a Third Party Lense Like the Sigma 18-35 Or a Rokinon Cine Lense. If you need a cheap Lense it is the 50mm 1.8
mowie1236 (3 years ago)
+Mop Krayz probably a 50mm f1.4, and a 24-105
EvilMoneyProductions (3 years ago)
Corrections: Needs CFast 2.0, not CFast. Big price difference. Also, it uses Gold mount battery plate, or V mount. Many prefer Gold mount, V mount is definitely not required. Also, the viewfinder is sold separately. It's pretty important to use the camera correctly. False color only comes in the viewfinder. And the shoulder mount/baseplate is also sold separately. These extras all together easily add an extra $1900+ to the cost of the camera.
Deedz Productionz (5 months ago)
thank you for that info im looking to get the camera
Agonywolf Media (3 years ago)
Most helpful review for this camera out there. Subscribed! Thank you!
Cody Jacques (3 years ago)
You failed to mention that the camera lacks a built in ND filter unlike most of it's competition. This means you have to buy external ND filters and carry a bag with ND filters on "run and gun" productions.
Jed Camara (3 years ago)
It's not a run and gun camera, it's a cinema camera
nicu marinoiu (3 years ago)
FPN a lot ! :)
Alley Kat (3 years ago)
Why did you keep cutting and slicing the audio? sounds dumb and unprofessional.
Nathan Miller (3 years ago)
Awesome camera! I used the URSA when it came out and loved it but it was huge. I've been filming weddings, real estate, and music videos on my Pocket Camera which has been amazing for more than a year. Even at 1080p RAW at ISO 800 the grain is so fine and can be removed completely using Adobe Camera RAW. I'm glad to hear this camera has 120fps 1080p. This will be my next camera if I decide to move to 4K for my own work. It's got the IO I need, CFAST is what ever just get the storage, and it's portable! Now here's a question I have. Do you get even higher 1080p frame rates in the 4.6K model or is it just 4.6K and even better DR? Thanks.
XxchemikillxX (3 years ago)
No one cares about the Mini 4k. We only care about the 4.6k.
Agonywolf Media (3 years ago)
+Philippe Orlando Oh yes, I will never forget. I plan to film an extensive montage of wedding footage and slow-mo dogs shaking off their wet coats in glorious 4.6k! It's going to rocket my career right to Hollywood! Good luck to you as well, sir! ;)
Philippe Orlando (3 years ago)
+Agonywolf Media Great, I"m glad you have seen the light, and please remember: Kittens playing on sofas and any woman walking on a beach will always look much better in 4.6K....until somebody decides, for you, that you must have 6K! Good luck
Agonywolf Media (3 years ago)
+EvilMoneyProductions Your hyperbole, desperate need to appear knowledgable to strangers on the internet and spec snobbery has swayed me! Coming from a Canon 5D Mark iii, which of course can only do 1920x1080p and even that lowly BMCC sensor is an upgrade from, 4K just isn't enough to satisfy my resolution lust! I must have 4.6k, even though I doubt my current computer can even handle it, nor can I really afford it and my final output will probably just be 1080p for quite some time anyway! Who cares if the 4K is already sold out most everywhere? Nobody wants that garbage. Only what directly interests YOU is important! I have seen the light. Thank you.
Philippe Orlando (3 years ago)
+EvilMoneyProductions I know all that! Yeah, the uneducated public, who cares mainly about one thing: content, knows what 15 stops of dynamic range is. Yeah, count on this! That's all what the public cares about. DR and color depth and that blue or teal cast. When you send a shitty script to some agent or production house just tell them, hey, the story is shitty, we don't know how to write, but we'll film it with a new sensor in 4.6K, because guess what, most kids who watch movies on their iphone demand 4.6K! This focus on technology is the sign that most people have absolutely nothing to say.
EvilMoneyProductions (3 years ago)
+XxchemikillxX is correct. The 4.6k has 15 stops of light. Major big difference. No one cares about the 4k. It's the same sensor that's in the BMCC 4k camera. The 4.6k will be BM's very first sensor they created themselves. It's what everybody's waiting for.
DRONE JOURNEY (3 years ago)
Would not waist my money as 4k cameras are cheap now. I a year or so will will be able to buy a camera from china which is cheap as chips.
Bobster986 (3 years ago)
How did you get B&H to loan you the camera? I have called them and they told me they don't lend equipment for reviews, but I could buy it, and then return it no problem. ???
mahesh singh (3 years ago)
what is the price of this camera...............
Terry Thomas (3 years ago)
With Due Respect, this appears to be a "read the brochure..." type of promo. There are certainly NO 4.6k sensor models available by Mar. 16th. So as a $3k camera ... only, with much discussed short comings...
Ilyas Curtis (3 years ago)
How does the 4.6K work in Low Light?
Aleix Castells (3 years ago)
Both require lighting if you are going for absolutely 100% clean shots. I have examples of both cameras with no lighting in my channel. You will see what I mean. In my opinion a little bit of grain is no big deal... The 4.6K Looks good at 1600 if properly exposed. The 4K is 400 or nothing...
Ilyas Curtis (3 years ago)
+Aleix Castells Everyone says the 4K is great when you are lighting your shots but not good for run and gun, natural light shooters. Would you say the 4.6K still requires lighting to get great results? I'm about a week away from purchasing a Sony A7S ii, because I do a lot of run and gun, mostly corporate documentary style stuff. Any insight ?
Aleix Castells (3 years ago)
+Ilyas Curtis Waaay better than the 4K. Like 2 stops better.
Steve K. (3 years ago)
Good video, thx! But PLEASE make audio transitions between your off-text cuts!
Isn't there a storage issue with that camera? Shooting 4K in 256g cards? Formating cards every 15 minutes of footage? Maybe I' ve found my turn off... Any owners here to shed some light?
Ben Che (3 years ago)
+Nτινος Σταματιου I don't own an Ursa Mini but looking into buying one for our company. CFast Crads were my biggest dealbreaker. Then I found the Atoch C2S. It's a small device that let's you shoot directly to SSDs. Much cheaper solution that will keep you recording longer than 5-6min of RAW DNG. It plugs directly into the camera CFast ports, so the cam doesn't even notice anything. It's seamless...apparently. If I purchase this cam, I'll get the Atoch C2S with it for sure.
Maac Desmond (3 years ago)
How you get all these stuffs for making videos..there is a great doubt in there...plz anyone give me answer!!
I'm just looking for a selfie camera. Would this be OK for that?
Santiago Gutierrez (4 months ago)
No it would not be.
Adam Funk (1 year ago)
kishand vijayan This is the only correct answer.
telepathy90 (2 years ago)
Richard's World classic comment lol 😂
NBF PRODUCTION (2 years ago)
+Kieran Fitzpatrick your a clown lmaooo
Brett Schneider (2 years ago)
Come on this is trash for selfies. You know the ones the news reporters use. Those would barely be capable of taking selfiss
GAME Play MMO-RAW (3 years ago)
To high end for me
Nihal Jugoo (3 years ago)
can it shoot unlimited 4k videos?
Ben Che (3 years ago)
+Krustentier Get an Atoch C2S with 2 x 1Tb SSds, you're good for hours
Krustentier (3 years ago)
+TechXperts "unlimited"? Well, if your cfast cards have enough space, yes.
Kris Opala (3 years ago)
I'd save up for a Sony FS 7 here... At least for dedicated production work.
Daniel R. (3 years ago)
Excellent review; been strongly considering buying one so I really appreciate this review. Think I'll wait until they release an improved version that shoots well in dark situations. Good night mode is a must.
Nadim Bou Karroum (2 years ago)
this is a cinema camera, and cinema cameras need lights! just light your scene and you'll get amazing images. If you prefer run and gun and low light shoots you're better off with an fs7 or a7sii
WILL CYBORG (3 years ago)
The phantom 4 is in the DJI store
Johnas (3 years ago)
Plz send me that camera
monkeh88 (2 years ago)
xD
Johnas (3 years ago)
😃✌🏻️😁
Picadie (3 years ago)
lol
Andreas (3 years ago)
...you say excellent audio options..how is the XLR audio quality? Many customers complain about realy bad audio (low volume, cut off trebles and bad dynamic). The XLR inputs are described as cheap and too tight....What is your experience?
Olah Andras (3 years ago)
yasssss
Bryan (3 years ago)
R u Indian??
Machieavelli (3 years ago)
The ATM wants me to feed it a stray cat Waj
ExpertWeapons (3 years ago)
Ursa Mini or Red Weapon Dragon?
Jonathon Sendall (3 years ago)
+ExpertWeapons Errr still the same. Huge price difference
ExpertWeapons (3 years ago)
Sorry I meant the Ursa not the mini. Ursa vs Red weapon Dragon.
Zaber Ansary (3 years ago)
$3k vs $60k?
trevorpinnocky (3 years ago)
I was so excited about this camera when it was announced, but the QA has been all over the map with so many complaints. very, very disappointing.
Insanity On A Bun (3 years ago)
But mostly DSLR n00bs who don't know what they're doing In a real lighting situation complaining about its lowlight capabilities. From what I've noticed
Senpai_Jayy (3 years ago)
Great video, as usual
Eightpspi (3 years ago)
No battery included... Come on canon bring me the 4K... From a photographer and videographer
Ben Che (3 years ago)
+AMA I don't know about Canon, but I have yet to find a Sony cam that can shoot raw at this price point. I'm looking at the FS7 right now, and looks like the best it can do is compressed X-AVC... do they even have a contender for Raw uncompressed ? 4k is not my only concern. I want the best options in color grading too.
Jonathon Sendall (3 years ago)
+Jana Cegar Sony A6300
Andreas (3 years ago)
@AMA ..if canon continues their marketing strategy, they are history....
AMA (3 years ago)
@Jana Cegar Yes, but that is all they have going for them atm. If you are an amateur film maker you will buy a t3i, which is under 400$. But spend a little more you can buy a G7 with 4k recording, a little bit more you can buy an a6300 which has 4k downscaled from 6k.Canon have not improved anything to this day. The 80D is a joke of an upgrade. They don't even have 1080p60 in their latest line up.
Jana Cegar (3 years ago)
cannon is way cheaper
PedroTawaTV (3 years ago)
Sexy
Hamza Alavi (3 years ago)
Beast Camera. Beast review. :D
Christophe Langlois (3 years ago)
Which video editing software do you use to display the very useful overlay text box (pros and cons)?
Adam Harness (3 years ago)
+Christophe Langlois Premier or FCP both do this
Christophe Langlois (3 years ago)
Thank you for another comprehensive review!
Cameron Gallagher (3 years ago)
What the hell was happening at 2:34? lol
+HAlariousInc Are you talking about the vibrating shadow? It is a nice observation. I think it can be a compression issue too. This camera stores a massive amount of data and some codecs just can't handle it very well. Good night.
TRNDSTTRS (2 years ago)
+Guilherme Garutti Rossafa I think he was talking about the wierd artifacting at 2:34. Look at the clock and the wall it's on.
+Espience Films He is demonstrating how the autofocus system is outdated. The camera takes too long to readjust the focus and is inaccurate. Look at the detail of the chair. Thanks.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.